Ladonna Lives

In becoming me I find it oddly challenging to know who the “me” of me is.

There is the business Lisa, the writer Lisa, the Mama, the friend, etc. You may run into this yourself. There is a need to be different “me’s” at different times to accommodate different roles I play in the world, but where is the common ground?

The diagram below offers a visual perspective of the many “me’s” making a whole! Let’s say there are 16 “me’s”, each represented by one individual oval. When you put them all together they have their own identity and overlap in many areas, making one large circle with a common core. This is my center where the “me” of me resides. Getting inside to the center is like peeling an onion, removing one layer after another until the core of all Lisa’s come together, my common ground.

Overlapping Lisas

A friend of mine asked me the other day, “Do you believe in past lives?”

“Yes”! I said immediately.

I just love the idea of having lived before and that my life now is a cumulation of all my past life experiences; one building on the other learning as I go.

She then expressed to me that I was once a man who was either stabbed or arrowed in the left eye, killing me. She could see where the proposed weapon entered and where it went out. She also felt that there is still pain in my current life (like headaches or vision issues) based on that past life experience. Fascinating!

“Cool!” I exclaimed. Tell me more! I want to know all about it … then and now!!

Based on some personal experiences, I also believe that I was a woman who was confident with her body and willing to show it off despite cultural constraints against the expression; possibly a pin-up model, a saloon girl, or a professional dancer. There are a few women I feel deeply connected to like Madonna, Bettie Page, and Sofia Loren. Last year I went to an 80’s Party loosely dressed as Madonna … “Ladonna” emerged! It was too much fun. The overlap to my core is that of freedom of expression.

Me as Madonna

localcoffeehouse.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/2015-06-06-23-28-07-e1464817076677.jpg”> “Ladonna”

[/caption]Remember the OLD TV show called “What’s my Line”? It’s an oldie. There were 3 people who all stated their name as the same name. For example: They would each stand up and state, “I am Barry White”; it was usually a person who was well-known for entertainment, writer, politician, or inventor. There were contestants from the community who would ask questions to each of the “Barry White’s” to help them identify which person was the right one. Toward the end of the show, the emcee would say: “Would the REAL Barry White please stand up”.

“Will the REAL Lisa McIntyre please stand up.”