What’s in your bowl?

My morning bowl is full of organic goodies! Chia seeds, hemp hearts and cranberries are sprinkled atop a nutty, seedy granola that provides fiber, protein, Omega3’s, anti-oxidants and more. It is so tasty!

Granola!

Last year whilst living in the Oregon countryside near Portland, I started making my own granola in large batches. I enjoy choosing the ingredients to ensure the contents are wholesome, not too sweet, (usually) organic and gluten-free.

My basic list of ingredients are gluten-free rolled oats, coconut oil & a sweeter like honey, maple syrup or molasses. Then I add carefully selected items sesame seeds, flax meal, sea salt, vanilla, cinnamon, coconut flakes, oat bran, chia seeds, hemp hearts, pecans, sunflower seeds, cashews, almonds, and dried fruits.  Some things are added before its baked, some afterward.

For instance, the first time I added raisins in before I baked it. Never again. They puffed up during cooking looking like a grape, then shriveled back down while cooling and tasted burnt. Nuts, however, become more crunchy and add a great texture to the bowl. Just the way I like it.

What I’m getting at here is choice. By creating my morning bowl I get it exactly how I want it: not too sweet, all-organic, topped with tons of seeds and nuts. The cost of getting what I want is an investment in time to gather the right ingredients, mix them all together in a big-ass bowl, then baking slowly enough to get the right crunch vs. chew for my liking. The result is a sense of satisfaction and contentment.

“I live my life by design, not by default.”

I design my entire life just like this: I choose exactly what I want and how I want it, then decide if the cost of getting it is worth the reward. There are times when its easier to not think and take what is in front of me.

For example, go to the closest big box super market and grab food off the shelves without bothering to see what its made of, like the old days. There used to be an assumption that all of the products were the best they could be; that the companies making these items took us into consideration instead of their profit margins. Now consumers are beginning to understand that in the name of profit, companies cut corners that result in less than fabulous ingredients. As a result, we need to be smarter consumers and this takes time.

Erma Bombeck wrote a book entitled, “If Life Is a Bowl of Cherries, What Am I Doing in the Pits”. It’s a must read if you need to laugh.

What is in your bowl of life?

