Laura Dekker is my hero!

27,000 nautical miles around the world: Laura Dekker

27,000 miles around the US: Lisa McIntyre

Laura Dekker

Laura Dekker

A comparison, of sorts, between Laura and me. Of course she was 1/3 my age and on the water thousands of miles from land or another soul while I was on the roads dotted with safety nets.

I am in awe of this young lady and what she accomplished. She captained her own sailboat, Guppy, in a solo voyage around the world about 519 days. Laura was 15 when she set sail from Holland across the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans. She reached out and grabbed her dream … just to know she could do it.

I was lucky enough to stumble across the movie about her journey, Maidentrip, in NetFlix tonight. It’s about the life of someone true to themselves, a maverick, an adventurer and a free-spirit. Recent press indicates she didn’t like the movie because it didn’t show her sailing abilities, how she gathered information on weather and navigated the waters. I respect that in her, however, the director’s angle did allow me to experience Laura’s strength and perseverance.

She also shares excerpts of her diary giving us a glimpse of her emotional journey. She and I are not so far apart in this regard.

Traveling solo also fills her soul. She got to the point of not wanting to be around people or the movement of a harbor city. She was comfortable with herself and managing her own surroundings without the input of other’s or negotiating time and space.

This is why I do it. I love being alone, too.  Thank you Laura Dekker. I hope our paths cross someday.

One Girl One Dream

Her book, One Girl One Dream, is now available in paperback.

